

The United States is a **federal republic** where the **POTUS** (President of the United States), **Congress**, and courts share powers reserved to the federal government which, at the same time, shares sovereignty with the state governments. The executive branch is headed by the **President**, who is advised by the **cabinet**; this includes the Vice President and heads of the executive departments. Legislative power is vested in the two chambers of **Congress**, the **Senate** and the **House of Representatives**. The judicial branch (invested with judicial power) comprises of the Supreme Court and lower federal courts. The federal government's structure is laid out in the **Constitution**. Two political parties, the **Democratic Party** and the **Republican Party**, have ruled American politics since the American Civil War, although there are also smaller parties like the Libertarian Party, the Green Party, and the Constitution Party. There are major differences between the political system of the United States and that of most other developed democracies. These include greater power in the upper house of the legislature, a wider scope of power held by the Supreme Court, the separation of powers between the legislature and the executive, and the dominance of only two main parties. Another peculiarity making the American system different from most other democracies is that the President is elected indirectly by each state through an **Electoral College**. This electoral system has sometimes resulted in the election of a candidate even though they actually received less popular vote such was the case with Donald Trump, for instance.